What happens when people express their motivational needs?

What happens when people express their motivational needs?
A student talking to a teacher.

"This isn't working for me." It was tough for me to hear that from one of my advisees, but I was glad they told me. See, I firmly believe good advising starts from the advisee's needs, knowledge, and skills - I adapt much of what I do to meet advisees "where they are at." I really want to be autonomy supportive by being open, flexible, and focused on advisees' perspectives, values, and goals. So, when I fail to do that effectively with someone, it can be hard to hear, but it's also really important to hear. I wish more people felt the support they need to say "this isn't working for me" more often. What can we do to help people express their motivational needs?

According to Patall (2024), the answer might lie in supporting people's agentic engagement (i.e., "people's active contribution to the environment in which they function to make it more supportive of themselves" p. 1). If you are in a position to think about how best to motivate people (e.g., a teacher, a supervisor, a leader in an organization) then I highly recommend you read Patall's article. Based in ideas from self-determination theory, active engagement happens when people feel safe and supported enough to share what is and is not working for them, and what would help them feel more supported and motivated. In particular, I imagine leaders would be wise to investigate the idea of agentic engagement and what kinds of actions and climates best facilitate it. Patall's article goes into the research on facilitating agentic engagement and the positive outcomes it predicts, although there is much more research to be done (especially with people younger and older than traditional college ages, and with people who are often marginalized). In particular, I was intrigued by Patall's descriptions of the "dialectical transactions" that occur when people enact agentic engagement, and how such engagement relates to self-regulation.

Hopefully, with time, both myself and others will come to view language like "This isn't working for me" not as an indictment of one's efforts, but rather as a positive opportunity to become a better teacher, advisor, leader, etc.